Friday, 30 June 2017 16:10

SUNY Oswego Baseball's Landers Named Top Coach in NY by ABCA

Written by
SUNY Oswego Baseball's Landers Named Top Coach in NY by ABCA Supplied photo

The America Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) – in conjunction with Diamond Sports – has released its 2017 Regional Coaches of the Year. Oswego State baseball head coach Scott Landers earned Coach of the Year honors in the New York Region after leading the Lakers to its first-ever NCAA Division III Championship World Series appearance.

Regional Coaches of the Year are eligible for ABCA/Diamond National Coach of the Year honors in their respective divisions, which will be announced on Wednesday, July 5.

Landers guided Oswego to a 32-11 record – the program's second-straight 30-win season – and a third-straight NCAA Championship appearance. Oswego captured the State University of New York Athletic Conference's (SUNYAC) automatic bid to the national tournament after winning the regular season crown for the first time since 1996.

In the six-team New York Regional, Oswego and its No. 1 seed compiled a 4-1 record to win the round and advance to the program's first World Series.

Landers mentored five players to All-SUNYAC recognition following the regular season, including the league's Player of the Year, Eric Hamilton, and Co-Pitcher of the Year, Tim Cronin. In his fifth season at the helm of the Lakers, Landers earned SUNYAC Coach of the Year honors for the first time.

Three of the aforementioned players went on to collect all-region accolades of their own under Landers' watch, while Hamilton also went on to All-America status.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,200 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, the association's annual awards program has grown to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Division I, II, III, Pacific Association Division and High School.


NCAA Div. III - 2017 ABCA/Diamond Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
New England Matt Noone Babson MA
New York Scott Landers Oswego NY
Mid-Atlantic Bob Babb Johns Hopkins MD
Mideast Jeff Mountain Washington & Jefferson PA
Midwest Mike Stawski Concordia Chicago IL
South Matt McGuire Roanoke VA
Central Ed Mathey North Central IL
West Marty Slimak Cal Lutheran CA

Leave a comment

The website and social media pages promote only positive, upbeat content including comments and reviews. With this in mind, we will only publish the positive aspects of any comments or reviews. You can always find something you like about everything! Negativity has no place within our site. Thank you!